jump to navigation

Why am I doing this? April 17, 2009

Posted by calvinus in Uncategorized.
trackback

Following on from my initial toe-dipping exercise in the world of blogging, my initial reaction is entirely positive, with one slight caveat.

I have been somewhat surprised by the quick encouragement and helpful pointers that I’ve received so far. Being jaded and a little cynical tends to be my stock in trade these days although I do try to be as encouraging and helpful as possible to young, impressionable postgrads. So, following on from Peter Murray-Rust‘s and Egon Willighagen‘s comments, why am I doing this? Do I know?

I mentioned before that I feel it is a duty. This is true but it is not the only thing. Back in “the real world” I tend to be something approaching a chemical evangelist. Part of me enjoys trying to put this across, so I want to take this opportunity to do this..but this is also an opportunity to improve this communication. Learn by doing, and all that. Do I have an audience in mind? Probably not. Is this wrong? The idea is to start off someplace and see where we go from there. Maybe a 6-month review and a year long probationary period is required. Young lecturers have to do more – 2 years of probation and a compulsory period in purgatory (a.k.a. a post-graduate certificate in higher education) is needed.

It is all good fun. The caveat? Time. There is a lot of things to cogitate on in my line of work. Lots of things to mull over in public and it would be good to get some constructive thoughts back in return. The problem is finding the time to put something coherent down in the first place. (Unlike this!) It will get there. I will also learn the finer points of trackbacks and the like… Onwards and upwards!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

